Metallica announce new album '72 Seasons' Official Merchandise Store

Metallica announce new album '72 Seasons'

Metallica have announced they have a new album entitled '72 Seasons' the album is set to be released 14th April 2023. The new album marks their first studio album since their 2016 Self-Destruct.

Co-producers of the album are James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich and Greg Fidelman. They've worked together on their previous album. Greg Fidelman has worked with other bands Red Hot Chili Peppers, Black Sabbath, Slipknot and more.

The band have released a single from the album which is out now on all streaming services. The single is "Lux Æterna." and it's a fast energetic track!

Metallica Merchandise

In a statement released by the band James Hetfield describes the concept of the album "Seventy-two seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told 'who we are' by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are. I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry."

On the packaging, Metallica says "The album package was once again conceived and art directed by our good friend, acclaimed designer David Turner and his team. David, who won a Grammy for his work on 'Death Magnetic', is the man behind the look and feel of all of our recent releases, including 'Through The Never', 'S&M2', and 'Hardwired'."

Metallica '72 Seasons' Track Listing

01 72 Seasons
02 Shadows Follow
03 Screaming Suicide
04 Sleepwalk My Life Away
05 You Must Burn!
06 Lux Æterna
07 Crown of Barbed Wire
08 Chasing Light
09 If Darkness Had a Son
10 Too Far Gone?
11 Room of Mirrors
12 Inamorata

Metallica Lux Æterna

Back to blog