AC/DC and 'For Those About To Rock' Official Merchandise Store

AC/DC and 'For Those About To Rock'

AC/DC 'For Those About To Rock'

After AC/DC released their highly successful 1980 album 'Back in Black' that rocked to no.1 in Australia, Canada, France and the UK charts. It would be a a tough album to follow. Well the band did a great job of following up the album that sold over 50 million copies worldwide.

Strangely Back in Back didn't peak at no.1 in the US charts it peaked at no.4 but their follow up album 'For Those About To Rock, We Salute You' peaked at no.1 in the US charts. The band started working on the album in July 1981 at EMI Pathe-Macroni Studios in Paris. AC/DC hired producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange who has worked on previous AC/DC albums. There were problems from the beginning and the band wasn't liking the sound they were hearing. They relocated to a warehouse and rented Mobile One Studio.

After the band finished recording the music, Brian Johnson smashed on the vocals. As the band wasn't very happy with the recording at the time this was the last time they worked with Robert John "Mutt" Lange.

AC/DC Merchandise

In an interview in Metal CD in 1992 Malcolm Young said “Christ! It took us forever to make that record and it sounds like it. It’s full of bits and pieces and it doesn’t flow properly like an AC/DC album should… By the time we’d completed it I don’t think anyone …could tell whether it sounded right or wrong.”

On the album Brian Johnson said “Of course, the label wanted it to sell just like Back In Black did, but we knew damn well that’s not going to happen cos you can’t do that. You can’t write songs with the intention to sell a million singles or albums. We never felt any outside pressure, because we didn’t let it in. We were very confident after the success of Back In Black. And we had every right to be."

For Those About to Rock We Salute You

1 For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) 5:44
2 I Put The Finger On You 3:25
3 Let's Get It Up 3:54
4 Inject The Venom 3:30
5 Snowballed 3:23
6 Evil Walks 4:23
7 C.O.D. 3:19
8 Breaking The Rules 4:23
9 Night Of The Long Knives 3:25
10 Spellbound 4:39
Back to blog