The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame class of 2022 announced Official Merchandise Store

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame class of 2022 announced

The nominees for The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame have been announced. This year the musicians were chosen for their "profound impact on the sound of youth culture" said John Sykes the Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation. Additionally he says "Their music not only moved generations but also influenced the sound of countless artists that followed."

For instance some of the musicians and bands have been nominated before such as MC5 (6th Nomination), Judas Priest (3rd nomination), Rage Against The Machine (4th nomination), Devo, (3rd nomination) Pat Benatar, Kate Bush (3rd nomination) Eurythmics, New York Dolls (3rd nomination), Dionne Warwick and Fela Kuti. The artists appearing on the ballot for the first time are A Tribe Called Quest, Beck, Duran Duran, Eminem, Dolly Parton, Lionel Richie and Carly Simon.

Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Nominee Announcement

Since The Rock & Roll Hall of fame began in 1986, it has received criticism for having lack of diversity and its musical elitism. The requirement to be on the ballot is the artist must be 25 years since the release of their first record. The choice of the artists comes straight from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's board.

Back in 1986, there wasn't much diversity among genders within the artists. The first female inducted was in 1990 and it was Aretha Franklin. Since then slowly more female artists have been inducted. The female artists inducted since 1990 have been The Supremes, Zola Taylor, Tina Turner, Etta James, Janis Joplin, Joni Mitchel, Stevie Nicks and Christine McVie of Fleetwood Mac, Bonnie Rat, Patti Smith, Deborah Harry, Janet Jackson and more.

MC5 Merchandise

However, in Janet Jackson's induction speech in 2019 she said "Rock & Roll Hall of Fame please, 2020: Induct more women". Steve Miller used his induction speech in 2015 and made a similar comment.

It's not just "rock" music that gets into the Hall of Fame. Hip Hop group N.W.A who came straight outta Compton were inducted in 2016. Ice Cube said 'Rock & Roll' is "not even a style of music [but] a spirit. It's been going since the blues, jazz, bebop, soul, R&B, rock & roll, heavy metal, punk rock and, yes, hip-hop," he said.

He concluded "And what connects us all is that spirit. Rock and roll is not conforming to the people who came before you. It's creating your own path in music and in life."

Your vote, your voice. It’s time for you to support your favourite Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2022 Nominees. Help them reach the top 5 of the official Fan’s Ballot. You can select up to 5 Nominees daily and submit your vote. Share your ballot, spread the word and rock the vote now until April 29th!

Cast your vote here

Back to blog