Duff McKagan Unveils New Solo Song 'Longfeather' Alongside Music Video

Duff McKagan Unveils New Solo Song 'Longfeather' Alongside Music Video

Duff McKagan, renowned as the bassist for GUNS N' ROSES, has unleashed "Longfeather," his latest single from the highly anticipated third solo album titled "Lighthouse," set to hit the scene on Friday, October 20. The official music video, a creation directed by Connor Ellmann, Kuj Durollari, and Arben Durollari, is available for viewing below.

Explaining the essence behind the song, McKagan states, "'Today is a good day to die' refers not to a macabre yearning for death but rather a lust for life and the learned habits of a good and honest daily striving. Longfeather was protecting his home. He couldn't hold up ALL of the Western wave…but he did his everything to keep his family safe. O Longfeather is gone. And O, Longfeather is home. I see you. I see you. Thank you, Longfeather, for giving me hope and a solid place to stand."

"Lighthouse" is set to offer a variety of versions, including CD, deluxe CD featuring a fold-out photo print, cassette, standard black vinyl, and deluxe vinyl in multiple colors. Each version comes with lithographs, a booklet, sticker, and guitar pick. Additionally, signed editions and exclusive store versions will be available.

Duff McKagan, a creative force in the music industry for over 40 years, has contributed to numerous bands, tours, collaborations, and writings. With his upcoming solo album, "Lighthouse," McKagan showcases his innate talent as a singer-songwriter, delving deep into themes of authenticity and introspection.

In 2019, McKagan realized his dream of owning a recording studio, providing him the opportunity to explore new songs and revisit old riffs. He dedicated much of the next two years to crafting intensely personal new tracks, working closely with long-time producer and collaborator Martin Feveyear (known for his work with Mark Lanegan and Brandi Carlile).

The album, "Lighthouse," is a significant milestone as the first full-length collection to emerge from McKagan's personal studio. Tracks like "Hope" (featuring Paul McCartney's drummer, Abe Laboriel Jr., and melodic lead guitar from Slash) and the contemplative "I Just Don't Know" (featuring Jerry Cantrell of ALICE IN CHAINS) reveal a more profound artistic spirit in McKagan's work. His music combines acoustic elements with the vigor of rock 'n' roll, striking a perfect balance between soul-searching reflection and pure energy. Additionally, the album includes "Lighthouse (Reprise)," featuring the iconic Iggy Pop.

Earlier this year, McKagan introduced his new music with the release of the "This Is The Song" EP, a tribute to Mental Health Awareness Month. The EP, which garnered praise from publications like Rolling Stone, Consequence Of Sound, Loudwire, and American Songwriter, features the emotionally charged title track, "This Is The Song," accompanied by an official video available for viewing on YouTube.

Duff McKagan's musical journey began at the age of 15 and has encompassed diverse and influential bands such as THE VAINS (1979), THE FASTBACKS (1980), THE LIVING (1982), THE FARTZ (1982), 10 MINUTE WARNING (1983), and LOADED (1998). He also holds a historic role as a founding member of both GUNS N' ROSES and VELVET REVOLVER. McKagan's second solo album, "Tenderness," produced by three-time Grammy Award winner Shooter Jennings, marked a significant shift in his career, addressing societal issues and personal reflections against an Americana-infused backdrop. The album received critical acclaim, earning a place on Loudwire's "50 Best Rock Albums" list for that year and a glowing review from Bob Dylan, who cited McKagan's song "Chip Away" as a personal favorite.

Aside from his prolific music career, Duff McKagan is a New York Times best-selling author, known for works like "It's So Easy: And Other Lies" (2011) and "How To Be A Man: (And Other Illusions)" (2015). He co-hosts the popular SiriusXM radio show "Three Chords & The Truth" with Susan Holmes McKagan on Ozzy's Boneyard (Ch. 38). McKagan also plays a vital role in a contemporary "Wrecking Crew" alongside Grammy Award-winning musician/producer Andrew Watt and RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS' Chad Smith, contributing to recent albums like Ozzy Osbourne's "Ordinary Man" (2020), "Patient No. 9" (2022), a two-time Grammy Award-winning release, and Iggy Pop's acclaimed "Every Loser" (2023). Furthermore, McKagan, along with Watt, Smith, and RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS' Josh Klinghoffer, is part of IGGY POP & THE LOSERS, a newly formed ensemble that made a sensational debut with a dynamic performance of "Frenzy" on ABC's "Jimmy Kimmel Live!" earlier this year.

Lighthouse" Track Listing:

01. Lighthouse
02. Longfeather
03. Holy Water
04. I Saw God On 10th St
05. Fallen
06. Forgiveness
07. Just Another Shakedown
08. Fallen Ones
09. Hope (feat. Slash)
10. I Just Don't Know (feat. Jerry Cantrell)
11. Lighthouse (Reprise) (feat. Iggy Pop)

Back to blog