Metallica's Kirk Hammett debut solo EP 'Portals' Official Merchandise Store

Metallica's Kirk Hammett debut solo EP 'Portals'

Metallica's Kirk Hammett debut solo EP 'Portals'

Metallica's Kirk Hammett EP 'Portals. 'Kirk Hammet of Metallica will release his debut solo EP in April. The EP 'Portals' consists of four instrumental songs. Released through streaming platforms, CD and a special Record Store Day ocean-blue vinyl EP.

On the inspiration for the EP Kirk Hammett says "Initially, before I even had the idea for a solo EP. I was inspired by the need to create some sort of soundtrack music to accompany The Kirk Hammett Collection for the first 'It's Alive' exhibition at the Peabody Essex Museum in Salem, Massachusetts, 2017. I wanted to conceive music to play on a loop in the background as people walked through the exhibit. One night with a progression, and before I knew it, all the parts were there for 'Maiden And The Monster'.

Metallica Merchandise

He adds "The initial concept for 'Portals' started with that one song. Following that, I realized I could create different soundtrack moments. These songs are what I call 'audio cinematic'; I'm creating sounds and pieces of music for the movies playing in my head. Hopefully they'll create movies in other people's heads in a similar fashion."

The musicians on the EP feature drummers Jon Theodore (Queens of the Age, The Mars Volta, ) and Abraham Laboriel (Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney) With arranger Blake Neely and former Metallica producers Greg Fidelman and Bob Rock.

'Portals' produced by Kirk Hammett and features the tracks "Maiden And The Monster", "The Jinn", "High Plains Drifter" and "The Incantation". The last two were co-written with Edin Outwater who featured on "S&M2".

"Portals" Launches Saturday 23rd April 2022

Back to blog