Prince's estate releases 'Born 2 Die' from unreleased 2010 album Official Merchandise Store

Prince's estate releases 'Born 2 Die' from unreleased 2010 album

Prince's Born 2 Die track

Prince's estate has released a new track that has never been heard before. Prince is one of the greatest musicians in history, releasing more than 30 albums over his 40 year career. Not only has he written many songs on his albums but he has also written many songs for other artists such as Sinead O'Connor and The Bangles.

Prince's Born 2 Die was from a never before released album titled 'Welcome 2 America' an album that was recorded in 2010 and was never released. It will finally be released in July 2021.

The track 'Born 2 Die' is a rather groovy track with a Curtis Mayfield sound about it. The tight rhythm section with the sensual falsetto vocals of Prince blends well together.

He’s no Curtis Mayfield

According to Prince's musical director Morris Hayes, the song was recorded as a rebuke to Dr. Cornell West. Prince “had been watching videos of his friend Dr. Cornel West on YouTube,” said Hayes, who is quoted in a press release. “During one speech, Dr. West said, ‘I love my brother Prince, but he’s no Curtis Mayfield.’ So Prince said, ‘Oh really? We will see.’” I think Prince showed Dr. Cornell West with this track.

The performers on the track include bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Chris Coleman, and vocalists Shelby J., Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo.

In addition to the digital release, a deluxe boxset version of the album will feature the regular 12-track album on vinyl and CD, alongside a previously unreleased full-length concert film from Prince’s show at The Forum in Inglewood, California on 28th April 2011.

LP1 – Welcome 2 America

1. Welcome 2 America
2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
3. Born 2 Die
4. 1000 Light Years From Here
5. Hot Summer
6. Stand Up and B Strong (Soul Asylum cover)
7. Check The Record
8. Same Page, Different Book
9. When She Comes
10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
11. Yes
12. One Day We Will All B Free

LP2 – Welcome 2 America (Live at The Forum, April 28, 2011)

1. Joy In Repetition
2. Brown Skin (India.Arie cover)
3. 17 Days
4. Shhh
5. Controversy
6. Theme From “Which Way Is Up” (Stargard cover)
7. What Have You Done For Me Lately (Janet Jackson cover)
8. Partyman
9. Make You Feel My Love (Bob Dylan cover)
10. Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)
11. Let’s Go Crazy
12. Delirious
13. 1999
14. Little Red Corvette
15. Purple Rain
16. The Bird (The Time cover – Prince composition)
17. Jungle Love (The Time cover – Prince composition)
18. A Love Bizarre (Sheila E. cover – Prince composition)
19. Kiss
20. Play That Funky Music (Wild Cherry cover)
21. Inglewood Swinging (cover of Kool & the Gang’s “Hollywood Swinging”)
22. Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside cover)
23. More Than This (Roxy Music cover)

Back to blog